Title: Know Canada Better
Client: Canadian Government Travel Bureau
Product: Brochure
Size: 102mm x 227mm
Year: 1967


Product copy

Know Canada Better

The name Canada is derived from the Huron and Iroquois Indian term “Kanata” which means village or community.

Here are a few quick and informative facts on Canada. Of course, for additional information, don’t forget your local public library; it will have complete details on Canada past and present.

  • Population – 21 million, including 240,000 native Eskimos and Indians.
  • Land Area – 3,851,809 square miles, second only to the USSR.
  • National Capital – Ottawa, Ontario.
  • Date of Confederation – July 1, 1867.
  • Currency – Decimal system: 100 cents to one dollar. The Canadian dollar is worth a few cents less than the U.S. dollar.
  • Time Zone – Seven in all: Yukon, Pacific, Mountain, Central, Eastern, Atlantic, Newfoundland.
  • Canada is comprised of 10 provinces and two territories: each with a capital city.

Canadian Geography & Climate

All of Canada’s ten provinces with the exception of Alberta and Saskatchewan border on salt water. Canada also has a greater fresh water area than any other country.

The Great Lakes-St.Lawrence seaway system is the principal waterway, navigable for more than 2000 miles inland from the Atlantic Ocean.

The principal geographic regions are:

  • The Cordilleran Region – which includes most of British Columbia, the Yukon Territory and Western Alberta.
  • The Interior Plains – southern Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.
  • St. Lawrence Lowlands – stretches 600 miles west from Quebec City to Lake Huron.
  • Canadian Shield – surrounding Hudson Bay area and extending down to Central Canada.
  • Appalachian – comprises the Maritime Provinces.


Except for the far north, seasonal temperatures in Canada are comparable to those of the northern U.S. A cool clear winter makes this country popular for all winter sports. Canada’s warm summers make all forms of outdoor activity possible. More moderate extremes are found on both coasts.

Primary industries

Agriculture, forestry, fisheries, mining, electric power.


Canada is a federal state in which the ten provinces and two territories are individually responsible for their own educational system. Because the responsibility is provincial, school system and practices vary from province to province. Each region appoints an education minister, who is also a member of the legislative body of the province, to head the department of education for his particular area.

Information on Canada’s educational system can be obtained by writing directly to the Department of Education, Parliament Buildings, in the capital city of the province concerned.

Information on the student or teacher exchange program sponsored by the federal Department of External Affairs may be obtained from the nearest Canadian Embassy, Consulate or High Commission.